Domestic Violence Awareness Month – Ending the Silence

October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month

The Color is Purple

End the Silence Banner 2

I am honored to be included with a number of wonderful authors on the website:

 Ending The Silence.

I invite you to visit the site for my articles and those of Lundy Bancroft, Melodie Ramone, Catherine Givans, Sherry Rentschler, P.J. LaRue, Vanessa A Ryan, Stephanie Neighbour, and Jenna Brooks (who is site originator, organizer and administrator), with individual site links and comment and contact opportunities. Each lends a valuable perspective to the diverse issues of Domestic Violence.

Throughout the month of October, Jenna will also be featuring Stories In the News, helpful information, and a Survey with results to be collected during the month, and write-in survivor’s stories.

I will be trying to post more often, on both sites. And I encourage you to take in the wealth of insight and information that will be available on all fronts during the month, not only web-based, but in communities. Check your local newspapers for articles, web-browse where services are located in your area and what they do. 

There is a HUGE need in churches, who preach compassion, to learn HOW to apply that to DV. 

I hear the salutation, “Love in Christ.”  And think of the motto, “Be Prepared.”  

This month is an easy opportunity to do both.

Blessings, Diane

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Domestic Violence Awareness Month – Ending the Silence

  1. Talitha Kum October 9, 2013 at 10:06 am Reply

    Love your cause! Keep at it!

  2. Darla Dumler October 1, 2013 at 11:19 am Reply

    Diane, thank you for bringing attention to this important issue. Earlier this year I published my memoir Under the Staircase; Hearing God’s Voice in the Darkness with the hope of sharing with other women that through God’s Grace, they too can break free from the chains of abuse.
    God Bless,
    Darla

    • ranthegauntlet October 1, 2013 at 10:31 pm Reply

      Hello, Darla! Thank you for your visit, and passing the word, also. I look forward to reading your book. I so want to speak with and understand those women who have gained or kept faith throughout abuse…and to hear your perspective about God’s grace. Blessings! Diane

      • darla@darladumler.com October 2, 2013 at 1:29 pm Reply

        Diane,
        Thank you for confronting the complicated issues of abuse and Christianity. I too struggled for years as we all do. We must remember it is a process to learn and grow but I would not be living an authentic, abundant and empowered life without the truth, hope and healing of Christ.
        I’m honored that you will read my book. I pray it shines a light in any darkness you still have and brings God’s truth to light. If you have any questions as you read it please feel free to contact me.
        I also have a blog that posts every Monday. Blogs for October: Core of Domestic Violence, How Do I Know if I’m Being Abused?, Domestic Violence and Christianity, Abuse and the Narcissistic Man, and 5 Steps to Breaking Free From Abuse.
        If you guest blog I would be honored to have you on mine or we could each exchange one.

        Blessings of peace and joy, Darla

  3. whisperingleavesblog September 29, 2013 at 7:44 am Reply

    The Lord loves the gentle and upholds their cause, He will be with you all!

  4. Jenna September 29, 2013 at 7:14 am Reply

    Your column on “End the Silence…?” is the best I’ve read on Spiritual Abuse, Diane – especially as it addresses proper Christian response.

    That’s the difference with this event: It goes that step further, into the causes of – and the methods to fight – DV, at its roots. God bless you for your commitment to battered women, and for taking on the one aspect of DV that is vastly overlooked.

    • ranthegauntlet September 29, 2013 at 9:28 am Reply

      Thank you, Jenna! You have vision. I’m really honored to be included, and will do what I can this month to express the important stuff from my angle. Blessings! Diane

Leave a Reply

