September Gift of Words

 “It’s like that Truman sign. ‘The buck stops here.’ A hero is someone who makes sure that the evil stops with them.”  Jo, the main character of October Snow, a novel by Jenna Brooks.

******

I’m not afraid anymore. I will be stronger, and I will protect myself and those I love with my own clenched fists. Keep watching. Pia – An Infinite Solitude

******

Here’s what God wanted me to grasp within my spirit: “For he will not much remember the days of his life because God keeps him occupied with joy in his heart.-Ecclesiastes 5:20(ESV)

Something changed when I read this verse. God spoke to me about my future. I was to trust that it would be good, it would be prosperous. No longer did I worry about the future effects of the many ailments of my body; my heart was going to be occupied by joy. Joy? Yes… yes indeed. I could definitely do that. Will I face challenges? Yes. Will I have to shed a few tears now and then? Probably. But the sum total of my life was not going to be the management of pain; I am going to be pre-occupied by and engrossed in joy.

….Since I have let go of that worry, I have experienced such joy, peace, and a mission from God (pun intended. lol). When I made the decision to not let the management of pain dictate the direction of my life, the joy came flooding in; every crack and space of my heart.  The Great Plains Poet

******

Theologian Frederick Buechner once told a graduating class:

“The voice we should listen to most, as we choose a vocation, is the voice that we might think we should listen to least, and that is the voice of our own gladness. What can we do that makes us the gladdest? What can we do that leaves us with the strongest sense of sailing true north? Is it making things with our hands out of wood or stone or paint or canvas?” Or is it making something we hope like truth out of words? Or is it making people laugh or weep in a way that cleanses their spirit? I believe that if it is a thing that makes us truly glad, then it is a good thing, and it is our thing, and it is the calling voice that we were made to answer with our lives.”

Can you trust what makes you “glad? Could that really be the voice of your “calling?”

“A tree gives glory to God by being a tree. For in being what God means it to be it is obeying Him…. The more a tree is like itself, the more it is like Him….” – Thomas Merton Morning Story and Dilbert

******

Choose your battles carefully. Some battles really aren’t worth fighting. Ask yourself, “What am I fighting for?” If you discover that the battle has more to do with your ego than anything else, it may not be worth the fight. You may want to take the higher road. Kristin Barton Cuthriell’s The Snowball Effect 

******

Psychological freedom, much like physical and political freedom, requires vigilance.

If you’re not militant about your well-being, this world will knock the wind out of your sails, flatten you on your back, and grind you beneath its feet.

Assertiveness is not the enemy of kindness; it’s the bodyguard of kindness. It’s there to protect what others choose to neglect.

If an abusive or manipulative energy pattern manifests in your life, do the most dignified, democratic, and diplomatic thing you can possibly do: ANNIHILATE IT!

You’re nobody’s clown. You’re nobody’s tool. You’re nobody’s slave. You’re nobody’s punching bag. You’re nobody’s emotional sponge.

Psychological vigilance isn’t about harming or killing people. It’s about getting rid of self-defeating patterns and self-negating perspectives.

It’s about telling the enemies of your inner peace and spiritual freedom that they’re messing with the wrong {insert your favorite expletive here}.

It’s about looking at the elements of oppression that seek to be a part of your life and firmly saying, “let me help you die!”   T.K. Coleman 

******

Blessings, Diane

Check out:

“End the Silence…?”

End the Silence Banner 2

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “September Gift of Words

  1. amras888 October 2, 2013 at 9:44 am Reply

    You just brought those words of Ecclesiastes to life for me, thank you Diane, I feel that this could be a very helpful post for many people.

  2. mybroom October 1, 2013 at 6:29 pm Reply

    Great words Di, especially ‘The Great Plains Poet”. cheers G

  3. Jenna October 1, 2013 at 6:16 pm Reply

    Interesting (and humbling), that you found that passage quoteworthy, Diane. I had already typed “The End” – then went back and rewrote that part of the novel, including Jo’s comment on heroes.

    It’s one of my personal favorites. Thanks so much.

    (And you’re blowing up the dashboard on End the Silence…?) 😀

    • ranthegauntlet October 1, 2013 at 10:33 pm Reply

      Jenna: I loved October Snow! Great book – there are many places I could have quoted! I’m glad you wrote it a little longer. Cool! Blessings, Diane

  4. Lady Quixote (@LadyQuixote) October 1, 2013 at 2:05 pm Reply

    🙂

  5. Lori Lara September 30, 2013 at 10:27 pm Reply

    Fantastic post! I love the powerful good woven in. Wow.

    • ranthegauntlet October 1, 2013 at 8:45 am Reply

      Hi, Lori! I am learning so much from the blogs I read. So glad you enjoyed it, too! Diane

  6. TheGreatPlainsPoet September 30, 2013 at 10:19 pm Reply

    Wow! I am totally honored that you quoted me here. God bless you for taking the time to do so. I hope it will minister to your readers the way that it did for me to write and live it out.
    God bless you with His mighty hand.
    Thanks for the tremendous honor!

    • ranthegauntlet October 1, 2013 at 8:44 am Reply

      Chris, bless you, too. And THANK YOU for sharing the words I could pass on. Blessings. Diane

Leave a Reply

