Cloud-gaze with Me in the Grass?

The earth is warm against my back. I pause with minor annoyance as the tender-looking blanket of grass beneath me pricks not-so-tender shoots into the backs of my arms. The flies and gnats are dining elsewhere I guess, because they are nowhere to be seen, and I know that I am a favorite lunch venue. I rest my head on my palms, arms now above my head, and gaze at the sky through a kaleidoscope of shimmering leaves to watch the clouds moving and changing across the sky. The day is filled with peace and promise.

Join me?

IMG_4700

I see a smiling face. Forgiveness of myself, for choosing and staying with an abusive husband, for not better protecting my children, for not knowing what I needed to know. For not being able to…whatever. For being gullible enough to believe in the god others showed me, who demands suffering and calls it love, who advise with arrogance from ignorance. Forgiveness of imperfect or cruel people, who unpredictably hurt and cannot be controlled. I forgive myself for not being able to stop them or repair them, or my own flaws, or the damage my choices have made. The past, the losses, the whining about nonsense, and the minimizing of tragedy. God didn’t demand my forgiveness – for Him. He helped me find it – for me. It is so good!

I see a backbone that allows me to disagree with the crowd, however imperfectly. To say no to control or abuse for myself; to not watch silently if I am a bystander. To say yes to friends who laugh and keep confidences, are kind and honest and not easily offended – or live peacefully friendless if need be. To live un-ashamed (usually) for having been unglued or weak, knowing I could be again. To not be polite when politeness is passive agreement with a wrong. To know that my faith is between me and God and needs to pass muster with NO ONE. To reject drama, by avoidance or transcendence. I am.

I see a question mark that reminds me how much I don’t know, which relieves me of judgment. Of how much I want to know, which keeps me seeking, excited about better understanding to come. Of how much I need to know, which allows me to accept, to love and be loved. A lot.

I see the hands of a clock. Reminding me that time isn’t really linear, measured in equal increments – it is more…elastic. Decisions I think must be made NOW, can’t always be made now, don’t need to be…and in waiting through the agony of indecision, options may appear that weren’t there before. That some decisions do have to be made NOW, and just are what they are, whatever and however they are. And this moment is only this ordinary and extraordinary moment. My past, present and future are folded together like hands in prayer, fingers intertwined. It’s all good.

I see a face filled with fear. It is the face of everyone being hurt. AND the face of most doing the hurting. The face of everyone who struggles, who is part of any human community, who is subject to uncertainty, who is told he/she is not adequate, or who tells him/herself the same. The face of those who are separated from God, and those who pretend to be bosom buddies. It is the face of those who CONTROL, in any way or any place at any time. Of those who are controlled in any way or any place or any time.

Oh look! I will put my arm around your shoulder, and my face next to yours, and point to what I see! The smiling face again! Do you see it? Edging toward the fearful face, blowing into it, blending and thinning as the wind carries them away? Leaving the sun shining on our heads, like a blessing?

Do you see it?

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Cloud-gaze with Me in the Grass?

  1. Denise Hisey September 20, 2014 at 6:30 am Reply

    Forgiveness of self is so much harder than forgiving others…glad you have found your way there!

  2. Unshakable Hope August 30, 2014 at 10:33 am Reply

    Wow, that’s awesome, Diane!

    • Diane Walter September 7, 2014 at 1:05 pm Reply

      Thank you. Feels good. I saw your bucket challenge – well done! I didn’t recognize you at first because you have a mustache in your profile photo! And that smile you had as the bucket was being lifted….priceless! THAT’s awesome, Bill!

  3. joepote01 August 28, 2014 at 12:27 pm Reply

    Oh, Diane! There is so much I like about this post.

    These words especially stood out to me…

    “To not be polite when politeness is passive agreement with a wrong. To know that my faith is between me and God and needs to pass muster with NO ONE. To reject drama, by avoidance or transcendence.”

    Amen!

    Thank you, for sharing!

    • Diane Walter August 30, 2014 at 6:54 am Reply

      Thank you, Joe! It’s a relief, such a relief, isn’t it…to be out from under the legalism and abuse and free to make healthier choices? By the way, your book has been added to the library at the Arizona Coalition to End Sexual and Domestic Violence – so those in the trenches, and those in the work can read it too.

      • joepote01 September 2, 2014 at 6:22 am Reply

        Wonderful! Thank you for passing it along! 🙂

  4. amras888 August 28, 2014 at 7:27 am Reply

    What a wonderful, and insightful post, Diane. It’s really good to hear from you again.

    • Diane Walter August 30, 2014 at 6:51 am Reply

      You, too, Francis!! Thank you! I’ve had a hard time putting words together for a while.

  5. mybroom August 28, 2014 at 3:35 am Reply

    Ok Di, great to see a post from you… and great to see how strong you are.
    Back to the blog… its one of the best things that has happened as I began to view Christ – I began to loose condemnation, even for the major screw-ups in my past, even for the screw-ups that affected my dear family members… truly amazing.
    Oh; and one more thing – you are some writer!! love the way you hang words together, love the way you let people in.
    P.S. You aren’t so grey.
    P.P.S. we are IN!!! Just want a gap in the traffic to open up so I can respond properly.
    cheers G

    • Diane Walter September 7, 2014 at 1:16 pm Reply

      Thank you, G! Forgiveness, lack of condemnation, is so sweet whether given or received. So glad you got the build/move done, and hope the other traffic is going well. You do have energy! Di

Leave a Reply

