Just Sharing Beautiful

IMG_1187This is for Denise and Francis. By sharing your photos you have taken me to beautiful places I have never been, and moved my heart with sights new and wonderful. My turn!

IMG_1535IMG_1437IMG_1300

My husband and I spent six days in Glacier National Park, Montana, USA. The scenery was breathtaking in its beauty, including the forests, deeply scarred by fires that have turned miles and miles of lush pine into charred posts. And the rock and water and animal life. Bravo, God! Bravo!

IMG_1566IMG_1537IMG_1581

Think of fire. In its reserved mood it warms hands and souls; in its wanton mood it burns, blackens and blisters. There almost infinite analogies: healing, purifying, cleaning, rebirth, devastation, death, home, heart, rage, love. An odd side effect of abuse is my love of word pictures and analogies. What I once used in desperation to convey meaning to one utterly devoid of empathy, I now use because they bring me joy. I love the word pictures. And many come to mind from the gorgeous views of creation I saw. But, for now:

IMG_1450 IMG_1445 IMG_1326 IMG_1354 IMG_1392 IMG_1460

The trees die, whether in the fire pit or the forest. The rocks are ripped from their places of origin, and rolled or tossed, remaining angular or becoming rounded and smooth. Water, frost, wind, heat…all do their part. Change, in the form of destruction and reconstruction, is unavoidable in the landscape. I can’t explain away pain and loss, but I can see hope from nature, that no matter how much the fire takes, there is ALWAYS some kind of beauty to be found…and potential for ever so much more. Even the beautiful ones who are scarred or gone have made way for others who are also beautiful. 

IMG_1176IMG_1313 IMG_1251

The view changes, but there is always beauty. There will be days when I rage like a forest fire that it is so, and that it sometimes hurts so badly. On other days, I will be warmed to know that every hurt, joy, higher view, lesson learned, scar and death has potential to nourish something or someone who comes after, and perhaps help them to grow stronger, taller, or more supple. Beautiful.

IMG_1428

Look for me under the tree.

Blessings!  Diane

14 thoughts on “Just Sharing Beautiful

  1. stockdalewolfe July 8, 2014 at 10:21 am Reply

    Thank you for sharing such natural beauty and I also thank you for following my blog. Visiting yours now.

    • Diane Walter July 8, 2014 at 11:23 am Reply

      That Montana is really pretty isn’t it! An honor visiting your blog!

  2. Pia September 26, 2013 at 10:52 pm Reply

    You need beautiful eyes to see beautiful things. You have those eyes, Diane. Thanks for sharing!

    • ranthegauntlet September 28, 2013 at 9:14 pm Reply

      Hi, Pia! What a lovely thing to say! Thank you. You have the eyes, too…and the words to share the sights! Blessings, Diane

  3. Uzoma September 1, 2013 at 1:25 am Reply

    Gorgeous! Breathtaking sights.

  4. Denise Hisey August 28, 2013 at 5:38 pm Reply

    Gorgeous pictures, Diane! That is one huge tree!! You are but a speck beneath it 🙂
    Your trip sounds so fun…I just love that area of the country. It’s so beautiful.
    Thanks for the shout out, you are so sweet! I’m off to check out Francis’ blog, now, too!

    • ranthegauntlet August 28, 2013 at 8:08 pm Reply

      You found me!! Just like Where’s Waldo! It was a fun trip. Blessings!

  5. barbarastanley August 28, 2013 at 3:39 am Reply

    Awesome photos! These sights are what we hold dear as a reminder of how much God loves us.

  6. Lynda Lee Stepnowski August 27, 2013 at 2:33 pm Reply

    Oh what wonderful pictures, thank you for sharing these with us. Montana is one of the few states i have yet to visit. I going to suggest to my biker hubby that we take a motorcycle trip there. But first, he will say, we must buy a sidecar, so we can take our Cattle Dog, too.

    The awesome outdoors has been my favorite cathedral since I was a young tomboy roaming the Missouri Ozarks, wading in streams and climbing trees. Even during my agnostic years, I felt closest to the Creator in nature.

    • ranthegauntlet August 27, 2013 at 6:07 pm Reply

      Hi, Lynda! Montana…cattle dog…I like it! Ha! Not seriously right? Though I can clearly see his ears flapping in the breeze in his sidecar. Unless he’s wearing a helmet or one of those WW II hats like the Red Baron. Or, of course, if he doesn’t have floppy ears. Um….what breed is he? Floppy ears? See what you started? A laugh and smile your direction. I would love to see the Ozarks! Blessings to you, BFH, kids and pets! Diane

  7. OneHotMess August 27, 2013 at 12:38 pm Reply

    Montana is my homeland. I get natural forces but at the same time, I an heart sick.

    • ranthegauntlet August 27, 2013 at 1:23 pm Reply

      I am blessed by your posts and your face on our common “likes.” I lived in Billings for a couple of years while moving around with my ex. It seems from pictures you have posted that you live in a lovely place now, as well. I’m interested to know where in Montana you are from.

      I so hope my analogy has not hit home the wrong way for you, but rather that the fire devastation is what makes you heartsick. From what you post, and where you travel in the blogosphere, I feel you are someone I would like; feel free to contact me via e-mail. Diane ranthegauntlet@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

