Conscience, emotions, and how they inter-relate

I have nothing to add to this. I commented to Barbara Roberts that she had been reading my mind. This is a very, very good website – much to be learned and much understanding to be gained there. I am currently reading Barbara’s book, Not Under Bondage – Biblical Divorce for Abuse, Adultery and Desertion, which I will comment on later. Blessings! Diane

A Cry For Justice

Jeff S said in a recent comment in another post:

I believe that that the root of my poor decisions was trusting the church. And that leaves me in a tough place — I have to be more intelligent about what I trust my church FOR now, and that is a scary thing. It was much easier to say “tell me what to believe and how to behave and I’ll do it”, squashing down any misgivings I had. Now I DO listen to my conscience, and that feels wrong. Like I’m being a wishy-washy Christian blown by the wind. (emphasis added)

I think this points to a whole swag of difficulties that victim-survivors often face. Please take this post as my tentative attempt to put my somewhat cloudy thoughts into solid form. In all that follows, I’m not including abusers, sociopaths, psychopaths, those who conscience is so seared that it…

View original post 581 more words

2 thoughts on “Conscience, emotions, and how they inter-relate

  1. theabilitytolove July 21, 2013 at 8:44 pm Reply

    Diane,

    This sounds like an interesting book, but I don’t think I’m quite ready to ‘go there’ yet….

    • ranthegauntlet July 21, 2013 at 9:42 pm Reply

      Good for you! I’m taking it easy, too. Very triggering in some ways. I applaud your keeping safe distance. Really, the religious triggers, with intensity, are the worst for me. Up there with in my face yelling! Hey, I thought you were going to wind down your blog; I’m sure glad you didn’t. It is so good. Blessings! Diane

Leave a Reply

