Believe – In YOUR Words!

I thought, Is the Bible real? Is it accurately translated? Is it historical? Is God real? Can Jesus be true? If He really was in the history, who was He? …..But then it came a point, when all my life climaxed. Who am I? Why am I living this life? Why am I involved in these horrible situations? And I realized that no longer I questioned if He is real. I simply NEED Him! See, when that happened, none of my questions were answered. Logically I had no basis to take either side. Logically it makes no sense! But logic has nothing to do with who I am right now. It was a gift of faith. Talitha Kum

 

The fact that God’s nature was difficult for me to understand used to be a real challenge to my faith. This was especially true after being diagnosed with ALS. I don’t remember ever asking God “Why me?” but I naturally wondered why God would allow this or any other horrible disease to strike anyone. I began to rethink everything I knew, or thought I knew, about this being we call God.

…I know better than anyone that I’m far from being the sharpest knife in the drawer, but after many years of trying to figure out this concept of what we simply call the Trinity, I’ve concluded that no one is able to explain this Triune God in terms that are understandable to even the razor-sharp knives among us. And, I’m now okay with this because –

“If we were able to understand God in human terms, He wouldn’t be God; He’d be a man.”
CS Lewis  Unshakable Hope

 

Today, I believe that God is, that God is Love, and that Love is Kind and Good. Today, that’s enough for me to know. I don’t need to know anything else, but Christ, and Him crucified, for it to be well with my soul.  Lady Quixote

 

…There are certainly many things that Jesus said which I don’t understand, which I find unpleasant, which tickle my teeth and turn my guts upside-down… 

…If someone died for me while saying a few tough words: I’m not going to whine about the tough words.  J.S.Parks

 

…Mike and Lorraine were not followers of Christ when we met them. We did our Christian duty and invited them to church and tried to share the “Good news” with them; even our girls (then 4 and 7) invited them to church, but all to no avail. (They later told us that they mocked us in private. I could relate; I once mocked Christians too. Let’s be honest: making fun of Christians is so easy).

But after I was diagnosed, they began to reexamine the faith that was sustaining our family through this trial. Lorraine told me; “…When you were diagnosed with ALS I began to see a man who held no anger with the God that ‘allowed’ this to happen. Then you began to demonstrate trust in God’s plan, I saw your faith and I saw 2 little girls accept what God was doing in your lives and I began to wonder how such young children could love God unconditionally. I opened my heart first to the possibility that this might be good thing for me as well. Then I finally got it and allowed my brain to accept the basic truth that God is only good, loving and faithful…”   Unshakable Hope  

 

When I am asked why I believe in God I simply profess that he exists…….

“I gave in, and admitted that God was God.”  C. S. Lewis 

 Planting Potatoes

How can some of us be put to death, yet realize the promise that “not a hair of your head will perish”? The answer can only be found in a radically different concept of safety. Jesus sees things from His Father’s perspective. In His eyes, the passage from this world into eternity looks more like a coming-of-age, or a rite of passage. It’s a beginning of something much more than it is an end of something.                                 iLife Journey

 

Let’s face it.  There are aspects of God’s Word that are very confusing.  Some passages are just plain weird and others seem contradictory.  For those of us who believe that the Bible is God’s inerrant word in the original manuscripts (an important qualifier), this is troubling.

If God’s word is perfectly true, then what do we do with apparent inconsistencies?   Furthermore, why didn’t God just communicate things more clearly in the first place?  Certainly he knew these issues would be cause for disbelief, argument and interpretive error.  Why invite confusion?

I’m sure he has his reasons.

…. But, I don’t think God allowed ambiguity so that we will read more scholarly opinion.

Perhaps difficult passages of Scripture offer us an opportunity to examine our own hearts and our false constructions of God.

Connecting Dots…to God

Although I didn’t understand much, I did understand one thing.I believed, with only a tiny amount of faith, that God had shown me that He was in fact real — and if that was true then I kept hope that He might help me. That choice to have that tiny bit of faith was a pivotal point in my life. I had asked and accepted Jesus into my life at age 16, but it was not until my late teen years and early twenties — the peak of all that I have described — that I started to focus on Him.  40-Year Wanderer

 

The only way I have found to lay hold of the peace and rest that all of mankind craves is to ‘step over a line’. To decide once and for all that Christ died on the cross to make me His. I have to examine this so closely that I am willing to make it the pivotal statement of my life. Christ can do no more; He has already given Himself for me and to me – now it is over to me. Will I believe it, will I cease my quest for more proof, more evidence, more answers – that’s why it’s all about trust – at some point in my life I need ask my last question, express my last doubt, try my last fleshly endeavour… breathe out slowly… and begin my new life as one who has decided that God is good, He loves me, He can be trusted… with everything.

And all of this I do with unanswered questions, with my flesh screaming out “don’t”…. I do it on the basis of one fact only; “Christ died for me” – and now I await the revelation of the cross of Christ to bring sense into my senseless world – now I rest in  the life of Christ in me, and cease my life of trying.  Graeme Schultz, Hardwired to Christ

Tagged: , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Believe – In YOUR Words!

  1. barbarastanley July 25, 2013 at 6:58 pm Reply

    A wonderful idea, Diane. It is interesting to know that others experience much the same things as I do. Keep trucking.

    • ranthegauntlet July 25, 2013 at 10:40 pm Reply

      Thanks, Barbara! It feels so good to pass on the kind and wise words of others. Almost as good as a virtual trek through your garden!!! Diane

  2. A. Vancica July 5, 2013 at 12:24 pm Reply

    Although I am not a Christian, I find joy in the expressions of your faithfulness. As a Muslim, I have had struggles not to far from the ones you experience. I think anyone who calls themselves a “believer”, under whatever religious cover they find themselves in, will and has struggled. It’s just part of life and the lessons our Higher Power takes us through. But when we get through the tunnel to the light we saw from afar…oh how sweet it is! 🙂

    • ranthegauntlet July 8, 2013 at 4:51 pm Reply

      Thank you for your comment, V. I read several more of you posts, and feel at home there. Particularly your dedication to non-judgment and your openness to various traditions for whatever they lend to leading a joyful life. Good job! I hope what you say is right about getting through the tunnel to the light! Blessings! Dianee

  3. MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com July 5, 2013 at 9:33 am Reply

    Great stuff! Thanks for compiling!
    I’m going to be in East Rochester, NY, July 18 -23. Is that any where near where you live? Maybe we can visit.

    • MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com July 5, 2013 at 9:33 am Reply

      I’ll be there with my whole family.

      • ranthegauntlet July 5, 2013 at 10:19 am Reply

        Hi, Mike! I would love to meet you and your family! I know I would recognize you by your pictures! But, alas, East Rochester NY is a LOOOONG way from us. Like 1300 miles. Have fun!!!! Diane

        Are you driving???

        • MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com July 5, 2013 at 4:53 pm Reply

          Oh, man, I am so confused!

          • ranthegauntlet July 8, 2013 at 4:42 pm

            Nah, Mike…you have it together. Confused is whoever put three East Rochester’s on the map! I live in Eastern South Dakota. You’re talking New York! Blessings!

          • MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com July 8, 2013 at 9:21 pm

            You’re right! They should fire the guy who made 3 East Rochesters!

  4. Lynda Lee Stepnowski July 3, 2013 at 11:35 am Reply

    As I was reading your wonderful heartwarming post, I reached a part where I thought “OH! That sounds like something I would say!’ Then I saw that it was signed “Lady Quixote” — me! And I almost cried.

    I see God’s handiwork everywhere. I sense His loving presence in my soul. But my questing, questioning mind does not understand so many seemingly incongruent things! And yet, after many years of being proudly, staunchly, defiantly agnostic, one day in March 2003 I made a decision. I decided to believe in Christ, to believe in the cross and resurrection. Why? Because by that point in my life, the reasons I had found to believe were stronger than my reasons not to believe.

    Ten plus years later, I still don’t understand the many incongruent things… but I still believe. And it is well with my soul.

    • ranthegauntlet July 4, 2013 at 7:29 pm Reply

      Yeah! You are one of the few people who speak from real life, passionately yet gently/respectfully, kindly, that allows me to hear what you say and want to pass that on. You talk about your faith, just you and Jesus, after more than your share of religion. Peaceful, non-triggering so I can hear you. Thank you again for your inspiring comments! Diane

  5. Heather Mertens @ 40YearWanderer July 2, 2013 at 3:46 am Reply

    Sweet, Diane. You bless me greatly by sharing my words. Thank you. My story was not lived in vain and the glory of it, from it, and because of it lives on eternal. He gives me hope for that.

  6. whisperingleavesblog July 1, 2013 at 12:33 am Reply

    ‘As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.’ .. When I was a child, my elders in The Lord would say..”Just take it. Read it. Believe it — don’t look for anything else.” Truth was and is, that our questions and longings are not because we don’t believe but because we do. Even as our thirst is being quenched, even as The Lord pours out springs of water on dry ground, there is something more to nuzzle Gods hand for, like the deer. We are all reaching out in love, for love, to Love. Thank you for this lovely post and beginning to my day and week.

    • ranthegauntlet July 1, 2013 at 5:18 pm Reply

      WLB: Thank you also for your gentle and kind comment. Your peaceful words also help me start my week off in a lovely way. Blessings, Diane

  7. Uzoma June 30, 2013 at 1:00 am Reply

    Hello Diane,

    Again, you’ve compiled as an amazing list of quotes that thought-provoking questions and useful pointers for Christians and non-Christian alike. I especially love Talitha’s words and then Graeme’s. There is something sweet and real about truly following Christ. When you do, there’s this extraordinary happiness that comes with it. It abounds more and more each day.

    • ranthegauntlet June 30, 2013 at 1:11 am Reply

      Uzoma: Thank you. I am realizing how much of a person’s character shows through printed words – amazing! (For a post very soon). I can hear gentleness, respect and kindness in your words always (even when you get scary dark just for fun!). I can HEAR you because of that. Thanks for sharing your faith. Blessings. Diane

Leave a Reply

