April Gift of Words

 

 Carl Sagan wrote: the absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence. Tough Minded Optimism

******

Domestic Violence:

One death every three days

Over 50,000 police calls per year

This would be an epidemic if it were any other issue.

(Phoenix City Councilman Sal DiCiccio from District 6 News mailing)

******

In my Church I don’t hear the words mental illness, suicide, self harm, domestic violence, abuse and addictions mentioned very much. Yet these words are normal, everyday things to me. I can’t really explain about my day/year/life without using them. But I just don’t use them.

Here is my message today – No Christian is better than another. Perfect past or one that has been shredded to pieces, you belong just the same. Damaged people, let’s be honest about who we are and where we came from. We may feel damaged but truthfully in Jesus we are whole and valuable. Lets break the trend of hiding in Church and make it a more welcoming place to others whose lives are far from what they would choose them to be!

A fake Church is NOT a strong Church; by hiding we are doing no one any favours. Hope Blooms in Darkness

******

When Jesus had the choice between promoting faith and showing compassion He chose the latter. We might think that it would have been better to proclaim God’s goodness in this place, but Jesus didn’t; He showed God’s character by sharing in their pain.  Hope Blooms in Darkness

******

“If the private chatter of our thoughts would not be safe for another person to hear, then we should not be listening.”  Window of Wisdom 

*****

I’ve discovered how essential it is to keep things in perspective in order to maintain hope in the midst of a trial. The first and most important lesson I learned was focusing on what I have and not on what I’ve lost.  Unshakable Hope 

******

I still have a good life with more love and compassion than I ever thought possible. I intend to give it all away as fight to grab the goodness and joy that comes each day.   Lori Lara 

******

What I have learned from my walk with the King is that he does not dismiss or diminish suffering, even though the reasons for it are not offered.  He will bring meaning out of it, if we trust Him, if we permit Him.  He will use suffering to fashion something above human reason that is of immense value, something that has dignity, beauty, and honour. The Kingdom

******

The end of the storm is not when the noise stops; it’s when the mind stops.

Calmness and peace is not discovered in the absence of thunder, but in the cessation of self-defeating thought.  Tough Minded Optimism

******

Question:

Are you going to lay down and surrender because nobody ever gave you a fair chance at winning or are you going to fight like hell for the life you deserve? Tough Minded Optimism

******

…..we’re closer to what’s in front of us than what’s behind.   “Jay” in movie “Chasing Mavericks”

******

“On the party barge of life, you are the beer bong.”  (my fortune cookie message at Chino Latino Restaurant in Minneapolis)  Yeah, really. 🙂

Blessings to you!

Diane

15 thoughts on “April Gift of Words

  1. MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com May 28, 2013 at 8:51 am Reply

    Hi Diane, Are you still running? Haha! It is good to see you pop up on one of my likes. I had pretty much lost track of you for quite some time. Unfortunately, WP doesnt have a search function like Facebook does where you can just type in name or gravatar when you wonder, “Whatever happened to so-and-so?” The process of finding seomone, when you follow 50 kabillion people like I do, is a lot more like looking for a needle in a haystack. Unless of course, the perso pops back up on radar like you just did. Dianna, I, and the kids are going to be in East Rochester in late June. We have relatives there, and we’ll be seeing Niagara Falls. Is that far, far way from you guys?

    • ranthegauntlet June 5, 2013 at 9:13 am Reply

      Hi, Mike! I’ve been pretty quiet for a while. I did Google map directions and there are several East Rochesters, so I checked Niagra Falls, ON. About 1900 miles. Yes, it is far, far away from us! Rochester, MN is about 5 hours, 355 miles. So much for the travelogue! I will be back in Phoenix by then, anyway. It’s not likely I will be funded to make a California dreaming trip from Phoenix, but if I do, I will be hitting the coffee shops en route, and will let you know. Diane

      • MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com June 5, 2013 at 9:18 am Reply

        Wow! Sounds like fun!
        3 East Rochesters???? What??? Man, I’m confused now. I’d better get directions from the Buffalo airport from my cousins to make sure I wind up at the right East Rochester!
        Ok, we’ll see you some day. MN means Maine or Minnesota?

        • ranthegauntlet June 5, 2013 at 9:36 am Reply

          MN is Minnesota (ME is Maine). One of my fond memories is meandering up the coast highway in California (1970s) and visiting Solvang. What great views of the ocean. My dad spent time in Monterrey when he was a boy, and his mother worked at the canneries. In the 1920s. Wow. Travelogue AND history. Have a great trip! I will look for your pictures in your blog!!!

  2. coastalmom May 14, 2013 at 4:40 am Reply

    Thank you for following me! I am very interested in this blog. I can’t wait to dive in. It seems as if these days I am always running off to work and when I get home, I am so tired after I do everything I have to. I am having to get up at 4 to catch up here as much as I can But your platform is right up my alley. And I love it!

    • ranthegauntlet May 15, 2013 at 7:33 am Reply

      Thank you for visiting, Diane. Cool name by the way!

  3. mybroom May 14, 2013 at 2:49 am Reply

    Ok D, we know you are thinking up some really cool stuff to say… lets hear it, G

    • ranthegauntlet May 15, 2013 at 7:39 am Reply

      All right, Graeme. I’m trying. You know me and my dissertations….except now I am writing and rewriting paragraphs…but there is progress. Maybe a revelation is occuring and I will be able to say more in less words. Now that would be a miracle. Thanks for the encouragement! Diane

  4. I Am Lady Quixote May 2, 2013 at 11:40 pm Reply

    Oh, I LOVE this! Awesome post!

    • ranthegauntlet May 3, 2013 at 7:45 pm Reply

      I’m so glad, Lynda. A lot of wise people out there! How are you? Drop me an e-mail. Blessings! Diane

  5. Denise Hisey May 1, 2013 at 10:19 am Reply

    What a powerful collection of wisdom you’ve shared here, Diane.

    • ranthegauntlet May 1, 2013 at 10:04 pm Reply

      Hi, Denise! Our blogger buddies have such wisdom and encouragement to share. Blessings to you! Diane

  6. Uzoma May 1, 2013 at 6:32 am Reply

    Inspirational compilation, Diane. It’s vital we reflect on our lives and the path we want to follow. Some of these quotes spoke directly to me, like this one:

    “Are you going to lay down and surrender because nobody ever gave you a fair chance at winning or are you going to fight like hell for the life you deserve?” My answer: Once there is life and freedom, I’ll choose the latter because no human is superior over the other.

    “When Jesus had the choice between promoting faith and showing compassion He chose the latter. We might think that it would have been better to proclaim God’s goodness in this place, but Jesus didn’t; He showed God’s character by sharing in their pain. Hope Blooms in Darkness” I think a good number of believer would like to pride themselves as holy before those whom they feel are lost. But Jesus’ love and compassion is a sure way of winning others to God, Our Father.

    I love this post.

    Thanks.

    • ranthegauntlet May 1, 2013 at 10:09 pm Reply

      Thank you, Uzoma! I agree with you! I have some trouble seeing God’s love and compassion through so much suffering by so many, but these words touch me nevertheless, and I am fearing Him less through you and others who share that love and compassion. Blessings! Diane

Leave a Reply

