I Hope

I watched the movie, Ragtime, tonight. It triggered every feeling of injustice, helplessness, rage, frustration, and hopelessness I have been trying so hard to reprogram. I didn’t feel the storm coming in time, to stop watching, calm myself, put my mind in the right place. So I cried, threw a few things, and said bad words. Then I read wise things from blogger friends. And I remembered this half-finished post, looked at the images and videos, and turned my focus away from unfairness and suffering full strength, to hope, one person at a time.

The following videos sent by “Emily” after our conversation about changing public opinion (http://wp.me/p2GxIs-58):

http://www.bloodrelations.org/

The following song was posted by Mile In My Moccasins: http://mileinmymoccasins.wordpress.com/

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/05/24/153597841/kid-told-westboro-protesters-god-hates-no-one-because-that-is-true

enhanced-buzz-23346-1355522599-0 enhanced-buzz-18275-1355522633-1

 

This boy’s sign says “God Hates No One.” When he saw the protesters, he wanted to say something to counter their words, so he went to the car, his mom gave him a pencil, and he wrote his words on a spiral notebook. Click the pictures for the article from which the pictures came.

Good overcomes evil, doesn’t it? I hope.

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I Hope

  1. disashisoul February 9, 2013 at 1:02 pm Reply

    Love drives out hate. Thank you for sharing this.

    • ranthegauntlet February 9, 2013 at 5:50 pm Reply

      Hi, Disashi! Then I recommit to love. Thank you for your visit and good words! Your blog is amazing – I’ve been lost in there for the last 45 minutes! Blessings, Diane

  2. Lady Quixote February 8, 2013 at 12:45 am Reply

    A suggestion: you might want to put a caption under the bottom two Haters pictures, explaining that the small notebook the child is holding up says: “God Hates No One.” I can’t see the message on my screen, I had to enlarge the view quite a bit to figure it out — but the hater’s sign message is very easy to read, unfortunately.

    I agree with what Dr. Martin Luther King Jr said: “Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

    It sure isn’t easy to love haters, though, is it?

    • ranthegauntlet February 8, 2013 at 5:00 am Reply

      Hi Lynda: I made the suggested changes. I was tired when I finished this (know the feeling? :-)). And I just read through the comments you’ve made to me, and was again encouraged, and reminded to do some reading I want to do!!! You have come a long way, and are a tremendous encouragement! No, it isn’t easy to love haters. It isn’t easy to live on the same planet, as in sometimes I don’t think I’m strong enough to be here. As in, sometimes I can’t manage to detach enough to be effective. After the blasted movie, I was ready to go vigilante, but I choose again to stand with MLK Jr., too.

      How is your move going? It’s always good to see your face pop up here. I’m really glad you’re out there. You’re one of my Blogger Church folks who has coped with much and still loves and speaks faith much, and I’m glad I’m able to listen in on that.

      Blessings!

      Diane

Leave a Reply

