January Gift of Words

My favorite quotes for January:

LET ME NOT PRAY TO BE SHELTERED FROM DANGERS

BUT TO BE FEARLESS IN FACING THEM.

LET ME NOT BEG FOR THE STILLING OF MY PAIN
BUT FOR THE HEART TO CONQUER IT.

LET ME NOT LOOK FOR ALLIES IN LIFE’S BATTLEFIELD
BUT TO MY OWN STRENGTH.

LET ME NOT CRAVE IN ANXIOUS FEAR TO BE SAVED
BUT HOPE FOR THE PATIENCE TO WIN MY FREEDOM.

GRANT THAT I MAY NOT BE A COWARD,
FEELING YOUR MERCY IN MY SUCCESS ALONE;

BUT LET ME FIND THE THE GRASP OF YOUR HAND IN MY FAILURE.

Au Quotidian posting Burana: http://wp.me/sMzQr-1029

******

 When a closed minded person speaks only like-minded people will listen…But when a person with an open heart listens; their reply can penetrate the hearts of all, even those with a closed mind.   A Window of Wisdom – http://wp.me/p2wNN3-ah

******

I’m not inspired by the polished preacher who tells others to serve God while he lives in a mansion. I’m inspired by the broken-hearted, unknown ministry worker who searches high-and-low for a pair of shoes that will fit a homeless man he just met. Jumping On Clouds posting What Inspires Me 2: http://wp.me/p1cYUx-9m

******

Today, I believe far more than I doubt. Today, I am grateful far more than I am discontented. Today, despite all of the problems and ups and downs and craziness of my life, I would not trade my life for that of anyone else in the world.

Today, I believe that God is, that God is Love, and that Love is Kind and Good. Today, that’s enough for me to know. I don’t need to know anything else, but Christ, and Him crucified, for it to be well with my soul.

LadyQuixote in response to my post “Let’s Play Gee, Ain’t It Awful”: http://wp.me/p2GxIs-4i

******

It’s all an attempt to make sense out of that which transcends thoughts and words through the use of thoughts and words. Tough Minded Optimism – http://wp.me/pUuQw-2vk

******

“Eschew obfuscation” – (I saw this on the back door of a panel truck in Boulder City, NV, USA, in 1983 – and went home to look it up! Your turn!)

******

All of this reminds me that nothing is more important than love: Our love for God and our love for others. Everything else is futile and meaningless. May we live today like tomorrow is Heaven.  jumpingonclouds – http://wp.me/1cYUx

******

When  we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives means the most to us, we  often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions, or cures,  have chosen rather to share our pain and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand. – Henri  Nouwen quoted by Mile in My Mocassins – http://wp.me/p2WH1m-2c

******

“When the negative voices of our mind begin to speak kindly to us our heart has taken charge of our thinking, because we are immersed in love.”

The only way to shut down all of your negative voices is to choose love; because when you are in a space of love, the view of yourself and others automatically sees love, and what you see and feel will change the words of your voices.  A Window of Wisdom – http://wp.me/p2wNN3-cd

******

Don’t feel like a failure. You’re just casting about for your legacy. The world may call you a failure, but YOU don’t have to accept any stigmas into your heart. It may take decades to strike gold, so keep digging. As attractive as the child prodigy is the story of the late bloomer. Mustard Seed Budget  http://wp.me/p117Je-E8

******

But imagine that 24 hours of living on earth without the limitation of our natural vision, imagine living with complete awareness of the presence of God, and the gift of righteousness Christ gave us, and His complete defeat of satan, sin & death ~ I think I would spend the whole day with a big grin on my face, I would probably laugh out loud for no reason, maybe I would dance a little jig just because I could ~ and if anyone wanted to know why, I would shout His name – JESUS.

… I want to live like that now !      MyBroom – http://wp.me/23M9l

******

Here’s today’s two cents:

Don’t wait for anyone to give you instructions.

None of us know what we’re doing.

NONE of us.

Tough-Minded Optimism – http://wp.me/pUuQw-2yt

******

So much wisdom out there!

8 thoughts on “January Gift of Words

  1. […] January Gift of Words. […]

  2. mybroom February 1, 2013 at 8:26 pm Reply

    Hi Di,
    thanks for the inclusion amongst such lofty company. Still waiting for your feedback – hope I haven’t gone over the top, cheers G

    • ranthegauntlet February 2, 2013 at 7:28 pm Reply

      Not at all, Graeme. I’m glad you don’t mind being quoted. What you have to say is worth quoting. I have tried to contact you and thought we lost contact. Should we discuss via e-mail, or do you want me to respond to your posts? I will need your e-mail if you want to communicate that way. I’m ranthegauntlet@gmail.com. Thanks!

  3. barbarastanley January 31, 2013 at 11:03 pm Reply

    Another great post. I always enjoy stopping by.

    • ranthegauntlet January 31, 2013 at 11:36 pm Reply

      Thank you, Barbara! Always enjoy hearing from you!! Blessings, my friend!

  4. MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com January 31, 2013 at 8:01 pm Reply

    Liiiiiiiiiiiiiike!

Leave a Reply

