Kina powerfully hits the nail on the head over and over. Listen up. The topic is mental health and gun violence, but the application is universal. We so need to stop the blame game, look at the discrepancies in our own logic, correct ourselves and teach our children something better. Christians – look for yourselves here – If I titled this for you, it would say, “Got Grace? Pay it forward.”

Human In Recovery

I find it very ironic that there are so many people talking about how there is a huge need for accessible mental health services and a need to provide nurture and care for the folks at risk of marginalization due to mental illness and personality disorders, when many of these same people forward memes with quotes suggesting that removing people from one’s life who bring pain and discomfort is what needs to be done on a personal level.

Another irony is how many people I know or suspect who are dealing with a mental illness or personality disorders, diagnosed or not, who all but demand that others around them accommodate and accept them, as they are, yet turn around and treat others with criticism, rejection, and judgment.

I find it ironic that in a country where we hold such contempt for politicians and the modern mockery of the legislative process…

View original post 857 more words

Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “

  1. barbarastanleyBarbara Stanley January 4, 2013 at 10:00 pm Reply

    I was conflicted about the trustworthiness of my mothers advice. I watched her get beaten on a weekly basis since I was old enough to remember. She never did anything to deserve it, but appeared to get past the events quickly. I now realize she was just doing what she thought best for her 5 kids. I was a typical teen who thought I knew more than my parents. I stood my ground one day, about 18months into my marriage. “If you hit me again, you are going to jail and I will leave and go where you will never find me.” It worked. I was never touched again after that day. That did not mean that I had a really good marriage from that point forward. I just decided, if I had made this bad decision, I was going to deal with day by day and focus on being the best person I could be. In this, I have known peace, joy, laughter and moments of happiness. Knowing Jesus has given me the peace I needed in my life.

    • ranthegauntlet January 10, 2013 at 11:00 pm Reply

      Hi, Barbara:

      Somehow your last comments went into my spam folder and I didn’t dig them out until now. I am so stinkin proud of you for setting the firm boundary with your husband 18 months in, and that he responded. I wish so many more women would be able to take such a stand! There would be so many more children raised in homes where they don’t watch their mothers beaten, as you had to.

      Barbara – I grow in appreciation of you with every communication we have.

      Blessings, Friend!

      Diane

  2. barbarastanley January 3, 2013 at 9:45 pm Reply

    There are no easy answers in life, but I believe God never causes any of the pain we experience in life, either physical, psychological or emotional. I do know that the beginning of my heartaches in life began the day that I did not honor my parents. I married a boy they told me would cause me pain. They broke us up and I went behind their back to see him, ultimately marrying him. Had I obeyed my parents and waited, God knew, I would have met the Christian man I was supposed to have married. From that one act of disobedience, I caused myself years of heartache. I know that God cried the day I got married. He knew what I was in for. Once the snowball starts rolling down that mountainside it just gains momentum and gets larger and larger. Just something to think about.

    • ranthegauntlet January 4, 2013 at 9:45 am Reply

      Blessings, Barbara! I see you have dealt with considerable heartache. I wonder if your parents, as you have described them in another comment, were people you trusted at the time to give you good advice? How old were you? I have so many times wondered what would have happened if I had made “better” choices, in many things. I think you are saying that we need to be aware that there are long term effects when we disobey God, right? The snowball? In any case, you seem to have come to a place where your confidence is in Jesus, and that has carried you through everything. I pray for so much love and peace in your life! Always.

      Blessings!!

      Diane

  3. jumpingonclouds December 17, 2012 at 7:03 pm Reply

    Wow. Preach it, sister. ” I think if we were more concerned with teaching our children how to handle trauma, disappointment, and painful feelings than we are with training them to succeed, regardless of the cost, the disparity between the haves and have nots would diminish.” Love it. Trauma affects everyone but if we don’t know how to process it and love through it, trauma will over time take our lives in pieces. We need to create safe places for our children to grieve openly so they can let it go. Learning to grieve (which I am currently doing right now) was one of the most important lessons I had to learn to recover from PTSD. It’s a bumpy road but we can move through it. Thanks for the post. Very well written.

    • ranthegauntlet December 17, 2012 at 8:07 pm Reply

      Hi, Lori. Kina can really lay out a thought, can’t she? We can keep passing on this type of good insight. With repetition maybe the lessons learned will help someone else along their path. I hope your mom is doing well tonight, and that you both get good rest. Blessings, Diane

Leave a Reply

